Archive for the 'Taiwan' Category

Jul 14 2008

Bruce Schneier: The Truth About Chinese Hackers

Bruce Schneier

Bruce Schneier is a well-known security and cryptography researcher.  He has a popular blog where he posted his recent article detailing “The Truth About Chinese Hackers”, which was written for Discovery Channel.

This article is not particularly insightful and sort of lumps all of the Chinese hackers into a single group of young, male patriotic kids doing it for the babes and limos.

These hacker groups seem not to be working for the Chinese government. They don’t seem to be coordinated by the Chinese military.

The hackers are in this for two reasons: fame and glory, and an attempt to make a living.

This is very short sighted.  We should be honest here, neither Bruce Schneier nor Heike and I know with absolute certainty what Chinese hackers are doing, who is coordinating them and who might be paying them.  Maybe the article shouldn’t be titled “The Truth About Chinese Hacker” because Bruce doesn’t know what the truth is (Heike would have said that he couldn’t handle the truth either, but that’s not my style).

I think a lot of people assume that activity attributed to the PRC is simply based on the IP address.  After studying spear phishing attacks, custom malware attacks and the types of data that have been exfiltrated from various NGO targets it seems likely that some entity is coordinating the collection and exploitation of this information.  In my humble opinion, there may be more to this than WoW passwords.

 

[Slashdot] [Digg] [Reddit] [del.icio.us] [Facebook] [Technorati] [Google] [StumbleUpon]

6 responses so far

Jun 21 2008

Vampires, Chinese hackers, Treachery and Smoking Hacker Babe…Let’s face it, this post has it all!

New Chinese hacker program making the rounds called Chinese Vampire v2.2.1 (starving anti-virus) billed as a trojan downloader tool, ARP attack, QQ tail…etc. The screenshot below shows the downloader interface:

From what I have read about the tool, it is very effective. So effective in fact, that another Chinese hacker calling himself Sadness, from the Black Wolf hacker group, stole it. Yes, he did. Look at the trackback URLs associated with this screenshot compared to the one above (circled in red). Notice that our thief has changed it to the Black Wolf website instead of the www.9u9u9.cn address.

The true author of Vampire v2.2.1 runs the website pictured below and calls himself SKSgod…sigh. He was really unhappy with the theft of his property and posted a pretty nasty response to Sadness. Yeah, hacker on hacker violence doesn’t concern me in the least.

Now the truly exciting part of this post, there is also a female hacker involved in the marketing of this fine product named Jiajia (佳佳). Hmmm, you say…that name sounds familiar? Well it should! It is the same name as one of the members of the Six Golden Flowers.

Jiajia of the Six Golden Flowers

Is the same Jiajia? I don’t think it is but not sure. On her blog, this Jiajia claims that due to the controversy over the stolen program, there are only two legitimate sites to download Vampire v2.2.1. One is her site and the other at SKSgod’s. Yes, there was a picture associated with Jiajia’s website:

Now this girl certainly doesn’t look like Jiajia number one and she appears to be a bit younger. Also, the characters next to the picture said “Sleepless Night.” Hell, this could be the picture off an album cover (and yes I did try to see if I could find a record called Sleepless Night) for all I know. She may just be the Brittany Spears of China. Thought I would include it anyway…sue me.

[Slashdot] [Digg] [Reddit] [del.icio.us] [Facebook] [Technorati] [Google] [StumbleUpon]

No responses yet

Feb 20 2008

Taiwan’s Nautica Retailer Pwn3d

Published by jumper under Hacking for money, Taiwan

The Nautica clothing site in the Republic of China has been compromised by a malicious iframe that redirects to very well-known rogue anti-spyware pushers often associated with the Russian Business Network.  If the site is searched on Google, the index listing indicates that “This site may harm your computer”.

 Google index of Nautica TW      

So naturally, the first thing I do is check it out.  

 nautica_taiwan      

I was a little bit disappointed that all I found was an iframe redirect to meoryprof.info which 302’s to spywaresafe.net, which refused my connection.   Initially I thought it was because I was using wget so I passed a valid looking IE user-agent string to it and was still refused.  Google’s cache only shows the text “sl0n” on the site.  Not very effective malware, I guess. Most of these fake anti-spyware programs don’t use packers, debugger detection or any anti-RE techniques.  I have about 40 or so different versions of this type of malware.  

[Slashdot] [Digg] [Reddit] [del.icio.us] [Facebook] [Technorati] [Google] [StumbleUpon]

No responses yet