Jul 09 2009
Milw0rm website closed
UPDATE: Well, this update didn’t take long. According to Stanza: Uhhhh nope! The site is back as of today. Yesterdays news buddy! Chop Chop! Hiiiii-ya!
UPDATE#2: As usual, our readers are better informed than I am. More great comments on the status of Milw0rm in the comments section from Steve C and dblackshell.
Chinese hackers love the Milw0rm portal, so I follow it every now and then. Found out today that the site has been closed down by the owner Str0ke:
Str0ke does not explain whether this is simply due to a lack of time, to an increasing number of exploits or perhaps to both. It also remains unclear whether the page and its current database will remain available or whether it will soon be taken off line. It is possible that other members of the community will come forward to support str0ke or offer to take over the portal’s operation.
Originally, milw0rm was a worldwide group of hackers whose members communicated via IRC. The group became known internationally after it hacked into the Indian Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (BARC) in June 1998 and downloaded emails and classified documents about nuclear tests. The members’ true identities reportedly still remain unknown to the investigating authorities. Speculations that milw0rm was closed due to pressure from the FBI have so far not been substantiated.
10 Responses to “Milw0rm website closed”



Uhhhh nope! The site is back as of today. Yesterdays news buddy! Chop Chop! Hiiiii-ya!
Stanza,
Thank for the info, updated the post accordingly.
Haha! Nice work! No reason to quote me in your post when I was injecting all that tom-foolery, but funny none-the-less.
Incase you guys hadn’t seen anything from str0ke himself there appears to me a mention here
http://blogs.securiteam.com/index.php/archives/1298
Glad to see it’s back up, assumed it would not take long!
I would recommend you to follow str0ke on twitter… some messages from him:
So while str0ke changes it’s mind once to often, one thing is for sure, that milw0rm will not be closed.
Thanks guys, I’ve included your updates in the main post. Advised readers to come and take a look at them.
Sorry to be the burder of bad news, but our dear texas friend str0ke is passing on milw0rm to a group of us from various security groups (phrack/blacksec/pulltheplug). We will continue to maintain the traditional format and keep those fun exploits avail to the .cn hackers you think are taking over the world. Like the site, but seriously dude. How many do you think hack from .cn just to help perpetuate/hide behind the myth your helping spread. Anywho milw0rms good.
@xort
Thanks for your interest in the blog and your kind remarks. We’re always working to develop more myths, half-truths and propaganda to keep our readers happy. By the way, what’s a burder?
Warmest Regards,
jumper
In an effort to spread more propaganda, I created the following websites to establish connections between Chinese hackers and Milw0rm:
http://www.google.com/search?q=%E9%BB%91%E5%AE%A2+milw0rm&hl=en&rls=com.microsoft:en-US&rlz=1I7SUNA_en&start=20&sa=N
You’re welcome.
See http://secdocs.lonerunners.net for a site like milw0rm