Feb 07 2009

Chinese hacker attack or brilliant marketing?

Published by at 9:58 pm under Uncategorized

This news is breaking all over the Chinese internet, so I feel obligated to bring it to you or face the possible accusation of not doing my job.

One of the newest websites in China just got hacked; or so they say.  The website is called, “Guild of the Seductive Woman” (http://www.yjz9.com/) or something like that.  Probably butchering the hell out of the Chinese on this one but it is as close I can get.  We’ll just call it “Top Girl,” since it appears on their site in English.  From most of the press I have read, there are nine, smoking-hot Chinese girls totally into online gaming.   In a perfect world it could happen…really.  Their game of choice, “Flame’s of War: Red Alert.”

The guild master, G3Boss (lucky bastard), has done several interviews talking about the girls and the organization.  According to the selection criteria, only one out of a thousand girls can be admitted to the guild based on their appearance.  Not gaming skills, appearance.  Appearance.  “Wasted” several hours on the website looking at pictures of the girls and trying to find articles related to online gaming but found nothing.  Zero.

They made a big production out of announcing that the newest member  of the guild would be revealed on Valentine’s Day.  However, a “hacker” got his hands on pictures of the new girl and posted two of them…on their website blog.  Not his website, their website.

Below the fold, NSFW…just a girl in a bikini but wanted to give fair warning.

So, “hacker Mimax” blurs the face and posts the story on Top Girl.  A reporter locates Mimax online using his qq and tries to purchase the pictures but offers too little and Mimax goes “poof.”  The report says that the Flame’s of War spent 10 million USD developing the online game.

For your consideration:

[poll id="5"]

4 responses so far

4 Responses to “Chinese hacker attack or brilliant marketing?”

  1. Jeffreyon 08 Feb 2009 at 7:37 am

    Heike, no one can every say that you don’t go the full distance for your readers. Kudos, my friend.

  2. Heikeon 08 Feb 2009 at 3:19 pm

    I suffer for you guys! ;)

  3. wokon 09 Feb 2009 at 2:09 am

    These are all models(all freakin hot!!). Plenty more, check out http://www.moko.cc – model/marketing agency. Looks like a marketing stunt by them. website design very similar.

  4. Heikeon 09 Feb 2009 at 10:02 am

    Would have to agree, this seems like a pretty clever stunt to get media attention. Since it worked, hard to argue with success.

    I wonder if it is possible to have a Dark Visitor Guild similar to this one? :)